Bicycles Locked To Poles

Be the first to review this product

Availability: Out of stock

$14.00

Quick Overview

This mournful but pleasing collection features many of the best photographs of bicycles locked to poles ever taken.

Bicycles Locked To Poles

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

  • Bicycles Locked To Poles

Details

Shot using a old fashioned 35mm Nikon, and in many cases by waiting days for Alternate-Side-of-the-Street parking regulations to take effect, the photos here follow in the tradition of John James Audubon, Bernd and Hilla Becher, the Peterson Field Guides, and The Observers Book of Steam Locomotives. Bicycles Locked to Poles began in early 2001, when a magenta arrow--spray-painted on the sidewalk by a representative of the electrical utility--pointed directly to the sadly bent, Dali-esque wheel of a bicycle on the photographer's street. Glassie passed by every day for months, until one day it was gone. He has been documenting bicycles (bent, broken, and otherwise) locked to poles in and around his East Village neighborhood of New York ever since. This volume presents a careful selection from Glassie's collection of over a thousand color photographs, as well as a graphical guide to present, damaged, and missing bicycle parts and a quote from Marvin Minsky's The Society of Mind. Bicycles Locked to Poles is a rare treasury for anyone interested in bikes, poles, locks, or the forgotten artifacts of the urban landscape.

Additional Information

Author John Glassie
Publisher McSweeney's Books
Page Count 87pp
Publication Size 9 x 8
Publication Notes Softcover, Color
Publication Date May 17, 2005
ISBN 978-1932416251

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.