The Color of Night

Be the first to review this product

Availability: In stock

$15.00
OR

Quick Overview

This stunning novel burns to the touch. From the Manson murders to the fall of the World Trade Towers, The Color of Night is about the persistence of violence in America as experienced through the mind of a woman warped by its impact.

The Color Of Night

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

  • The Color Of Night
  • The Color Of Night (promo)

Details

Mae, a blackjack dealer in a Las Vegas casino, spends her free time wandering the desert with a rifle, or sitting in her trailer obsessively watching replays of an old lover escaping the wreckage of 9/11. What she sees in those images is different from what the rest of us see. She revels in the pure anarchy, thrills at the destruction. These images recall memories of a childhood marked by unthinkable abuse, of her drift into a cult that committed the most shocking crime of the '60s, of her life since then as a feral and wary outsider, caught in a swirl of events at once personal, political, mythic.

Madison Smartt Bell is one of America’s most critically acclaimed authors. The Color of Night is a taut, terrifying tale: it will appeal to readers of James Ellroy and Cormac McCarthy, as well as to his own avid fans.

Additional Information

Author Madison Smartt Bell
Publisher Vintage Books
Page Count 224pp
Publication Size 6 x 9
Publication Notes trade paperback
Publication Date April 5, 2011
ISBN 978-0-307-74188-2

You may also be interested in the following product(s)

Drinking Closer to Home: A Novel

Drinking Closer to Home: A Novel

$14.99
Sugarless: A Novel

Sugarless: A Novel

$24.95
Kiss Me, Stranger: An Illustrated Novel

Kiss Me, Stranger: An Illustrated Novel

$14.95
Dear Everybody: A Novel (UK Paperback Edition)

Dear Everybody: A Novel (UK Paperback Edition)

$14.95

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.