Complete Crumb Comics Volume 4

Be the first to review this product

Availability: Out of stock


Quick Overview

The Complete Crumb Comics Vol. 4: Mr. Sixties! continues the multi-volume series comprising the complete works of the legendary cartoonist R. Crumb, one of America's most original, trenchant, and uncompromising satirists.

Complete Crumb Comics Vol. 4

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

  • Complete Crumb Comics Vol. 4


The series includes the earliest, heretofore unpublished comic strips, as well as his sketchbooks, underground comix, dramatic and autobiographical strips, and his classic cartoon creations Fritz the Cat and Mr. Natural. In this volume: Zap #0 & #1 ("Keep On Truckin'!"), Crumb's work from the East Village Other and Yarrowstalks, plus much rare art, some of Crumb's long-lost American Greetings cards from the '60s, and more (see the entire table of contents here). 'I figured it out somehow - the way to put the stoned experience into a series of cartoon panels. I began to submit LSD-inspired strips to underground papers... not for pay... never gave it a thought... but they loved them. These 1967 strips of mine contained the hopeful spirit of the times, drawn in a more lovable 'bigfoot' style. The stuff caught on. They wanted more. Suddenly I was able to churn it out... late that summer one of the underground paper publishers asked me to do an entire issue of his paper Yarrowstalks (corny hippy spiritual stuff - 'yarrowstalks' are what they used to throw the 'I Ching'). This went over so well that he suggested I draw comic books and he would publish them. This was a thrilling idea to me - a dream come true...' -R. Crumb, from his introduction to this volume

Additional Information

Author Robert Crumb
Publisher Fantagraphics
Page Count 126pp
Publication Size 8.5 x 11
Publication Notes Softcover, Color & b/w, 4th Edition
Publication Date July 30, 2009
ISBN 978-0-930193-79-9

You may also be interested in the following product(s)

The Freak Brothers Omnibus

The Freak Brothers Omnibus

Newave! The Underground Mini Comix of the 1980s

Newave! The Underground Mini Comix of the 1980s

Wolverton Bible

Wolverton Bible

Everybody Is Stupid Except For Me And Other Astute Observations

Everybody Is Stupid Except For Me And Other Astute Observations


Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.