A Drunken Dream and Other Stories

Be the first to review this product

Availability: Out of stock


Quick Overview

Forty years ago, the legendary manga artist Moto Hagio reinvented the shojo (girls' comics) genre with an ongoing series of whip-smart, psychologically complex, and tenderly poetic stories. Here, now, in English for the very first time, as the debut release in Fantagraphics Books' ambitious manga line of graphic novels, are ten of the very best of these tales.

A Drunken Dream & Other Stories

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

  • A Drunken Dream & Other Stories


The work in A Drunken Dream and Other Stories spans Hagio's entire career, from 1970's "Bianca" to 2007's "The Willow Tree," and includes the mind-bending, full-color title story; the famously heartbreaking "Iguana Girl"; and the haunting "The Child Who Comes Home" — as well as "Autumn Journey," "Girl on Porch With Puppy," the eerie conjoined-twins shocker "Hanshin: Half-God," "Angel Mimic," and one of the saddest of all romance stories, "Marié, Ten Years Later."

A Drunken Dream and Other Stories is supplemented with a feature-length interview with Hagio, where she discusses her art, her career, and her life with the same combination of wit, candor and warmth that radiates from every panel of her comics.

Check out a 31-page .pdf excerpt with pages from each story.

Additional Information

Author Moto Hagio / Matt Thorn (editor/translator)
Publisher Fantagraphics Books
Page Count 288pp
Publication Size 7.25 x 9.25
Publication Notes hardcover, b/w and color, Japanese format
Publication Date September 1, 2010
ISBN 978-1606993774

You may also be interested in the following product(s)

Black Blizzard

Black Blizzard

Box Man

Box Man

Push Man And Other Stories

Push Man And Other Stories

A Drifting Life

A Drifting Life


Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.