LITERATURE

"And for God's sake, don't let me ever hear you say, 'I can't read fiction. I only have time for the truth.' Fiction is the truth, fool! Ever hear of 'literature'? That means fiction too, stupid." -John Waters

Items 51 to 75 of 2581 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Grid  List 

Set Descending Direction
  1. A Nest Of Ninnies: A Novel cover

    A Nest Of Ninnies: A Novel

    $13.95

    'James Schuyler and I began writing A Nest of Ninnies purely by chance,' writes John Ashbery in his new introduction to this classic of American comic fiction. Learn More
  2. A New Literary History of America

    A New Literary History of America

    $49.95

    America is a nation making itself up as it goes along—a story of discovery and invention unfolding in speeches and images, letters and poetry, unprecedented feats of scholarship and imagination. In these myriad, multiform, endlessly changing expressions of the American experience, the authors and editors of this volume find a new American history. Learn More
  3. A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man

    A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man (Penguin Drop Cap: J)

    $22.00

    From A to Z, the Penguin Drop Caps series collects 26 unique hardcovers—featuring cover art by type superstar Jessica Hische Learn More
  4. A Rule Is To Break

    A Rule Is To Break: A Child's Guide to Anarchy

    $14.95

    Simply celebrating childhood: the joy, the wonder of discovery, the spontaneity, and strong emotions. . . . Wild Child is free to do as she pleases. Learn More
  5. A Scanner Darkly

    A Scanner Darkly

    $13.95

    Bob Arctor is a junkie and a drug-dealer, both using and selling the mind-altering Substance D. Fred is a law enforcement agent, tasked with bringing Bob down. It sounds like a standard case. The only problem is that Bob and Fred are the same person. Learn More
  6. A Secret History of Coffee, Coca and Cola

    A Secret History of Coffee, Coca And Cola

    $17.95

    A Secret History of Coffee, Coca & Cola is an illustrated book disclosing new research in the coca leaf trade conducted by The Coca-Cola Company. Learn More
  7. A Small Town In Germany

    A Small Town in Germany: A Novel

    $16.00

    The British Embassy in Bonn is up in arms. Her Majesty's financially troubled government is seeking admission to Europe's Common Market just as anti-British factions are rising to power in Germany. Learn More
  8. A Storm of Swords (new edition)

    A Storm of Swords (A Song of Ice and Fire Book 3)

    $17.00

    Here is the third volume in George R. R. Martin’s magnificent cycle of novels that includes A Game of Thrones and A Clash of Kings. As a whole, this series comprises a genuine masterpiece of modern fantasy, bringing together the best the genre has to offer. Magic, mystery, intrigue, romance, and adventure fill these pages and transport us to a world unlike any we have ever experienced. Already hailed as a classic, George R. R. Martin’s stunning series is destined to stand as one of the great achievements of imaginative fiction. Learn More
  9. A Storm of Swords (mmpb)

    A Storm of Swords (A Song of Ice and Fire Book 3) (mmpb)

    $8.99

    Here is the third volume in George R. R. Martin’s magnificent cycle of novels that includes A Game of Thrones and A Clash of Kings. As a whole, this series comprises a genuine masterpiece of modern fantasy, bringing together the best the genre has to offer. Magic, mystery, intrigue, romance, and adventure fill these pages and transport us to a world unlike any we have ever experienced. Already hailed as a classic, George R. R. Martin’s stunning series is destined to stand as one of the great achievements of imaginative fiction. Learn More
  10. A Swiftly Tilting Planet

    A Swiftly Tilting Planet

    $6.99

    It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of a most disturbing stranger. Learn More
  11. A Taste for Death

    A Taste for Death (Modesty Blaise Series)

    $16.95

    Out of stock

    The rugged team of Modesty Blaise and her loyal lieutenant, Willie Garvin, take on impossible odds as they battle Simon Delicta, a man with a taste for death, and Swordmaster Wenczel in a duel to the death. Learn More
  12. A Thousand Pearls (for a Thousand Pennies)

    A Thousand Pearls (for a Thousand Pennies)

    $14.95

    In the tradition of Joe Brainard’s I Remember and Georges Perec’s Je me souviens, this delightful "novel" offers a thousand answers to the question, "What are you thinking?" (Or, as translator Ian Monk puts it: "Penny for them?") Learn More
  13. A Touch of Death

    A Touch of Dead: Sookie Stackhouse - The Complete Stories

    $23.95

    Every Sookie Stackhouse short story ever written—in one special volume—from the New York Times bestselling author. Learn More
  14. A Town Like Alice

    A Town Like Alice

    $15.00

    Nevil Shute’s most beloved novel, a tale of love and war, follows its enterprising heroine from the Malayan jungle during World War II to the rugged Australian outback. Learn More
  15. A Very Minor Prophet

    A Very Minor Prophet: A Novel

    $19.95

    A Very Minor Prophet is the story of how Barth Flynn, a barista swimming upstream against purposelessness in Portland, Oregon, becomes the faithful scribe of Joseph Patrick Booker. Learn More
  16. A Visit From The Goon Squad (tpb)

    A Visit from the Goon Squad

    $14.95

    Jennifer Egan’s spellbinding interlocking narratives circle the lives of Bennie Salazar, an aging former punk rocker and record executive, and Sasha, the passionate, troubled young woman he employs. Learn More
  17. A Wild Sheep Chase

    A Wild Sheep Chase: A Novel

    $14.95

    A twenty-something advertising executive receives a postcard from a friend, and casually appropriates the image for an insurance company's advertisement. Learn More
  18. A Wind In The Door

    A Wind in the Door

    $6.99

    It is November. When Meg comes home from school, Charles Wallace tells her he saw dragons in the twin’s vegetable garden. Learn More
  19. A Wonderful Welcome to Oz

    A Wonderful Welcome to Oz: The Marvelous Land of Oz, Ozma of Oz, and The Emerald City of Oz

    $15.95

    For more than a century, L. Frank Baum’s kingdom of Oz and its delightful denizens have enchanted readers of all ages. Learn More
  20. wrinkle in time cover

    A Wrinkle in Time

    $6.99

    This special edition of A Wrinkle in Time includes a new essay that explores the science behind the fantasy. Learn More
  21. A Zeal of Zebras

    A Zeal of Zebras: An Alphabet of Collective Nouns

    $17.99

    An embarrassment of pandas, a galaxy of starfish, a shiver of sharks...these are all collective nouns used to describe their groups. Learn More
  22. A Zombie's History of the United States

    A Zombie's History of the United States: From the Massacre at Plymouth Rock to the CIA's Secret War on the Undead

    $13.95

    Shedding light on 500 years of suppression, this shocking exposé reveals the pivotal role in American history played by its most invisible minority--zombies. Learn More
  23. Abandoned Fragments

    Abandoned Fragments: The Unedited Works of Franz Kafka 1897-1917

    $16.95

    This volume collects all the texts from Franz Kafka's literary remains that originated in the period up until Autumn 1917, with the exception of the two novels The Man Who Disappeared (Kafka's original title for Amerika) and The Trial, plus the material that passed into the published Diaries. Learn More
  24. Ablutions

    Ablutions: Notes For A Novel

    $13.95

    On its way to becoming a cult classic, Ablutions is the much-acclaimed debut of a literary star in the making. Learn More
  25. Absence of the Hero

    Absence of the Hero: Uncollected Stories and Essays Volume 2: 1946-1992

    $18.95

    Everyone's favorite Dirty Old Man returns with a new volume of uncollected work. Learn More

Items 51 to 75 of 2581 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Grid  List 

Set Descending Direction