The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Volume 2: The Kingdom on the Waves

Be the first to review this product

Availability: In stock


Quick Overview

Fearing a death sentence, Octavian and his tutor, Dr. Trefusis, escape through rising tides and pouring rain to find shelter in British-occupied Boston.

Octavian Nothing Vol. 2

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

  • Octavian Nothing Vol. 2


Sundered from all he knows -- the College of Lucidity, the rebel cause -- Octavian hopes to find safe harbor. Instead, he is soon to learn of Lord Dunmore's proclamation offering freedom to slaves who join the counterrevolutionary forces. In Volume II of his unparalleled masterwork, M. T. Anderson recounts Octavian's experiences as the Revolutionary War explodes around him, thrusting him into intense battles and tantalizing him with elusive visions of liberty. Ultimately, this astonishing narrative escalates to a startling, deeply satisfying climax, while reexamining our national origins in a singularly provocative light. Volume II of the National Book Award Winner and NEW YORK TIMES bestseller -- a stunning resolution to the epic tale that "fascinates, appalls, condemns, and enthralls."

Additional Information

Author M.T. Anderson
Publisher Candlewick
Page Count 592pp
Publication Size 5.75 x 8
Publication Notes Softcover
Publication Date October 10, 2009
ISBN 978-0763646264

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.