Enchanted Forest: Memories of Maryland's Storybook Park

Availability: In stock


Quick Overview

The history of the Enchanted Forest is one of magical beginnings.

The Enchanted Forest

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

  • The Enchanted Forest


When it first opened in 1955, Ellicott City's storybook land became the first children's theme park on the East Coast. Young visitors could climb aboard rides like the Little Toot tugboat, Mother Goose and Ali Baba or encounter animals like peacocks and burros. Upon its closing in 1989, Marylanders who cherished memories of the Enchanted Forest were deeply disappointed. However, many of the park's beloved figures were moved to nearby Clark's Elioak Farm, where they were restored and displayed to the delight of new generations. Even today, the farm is a popular destination that evokes the whimsical spirit of the iconic park.

Local author Janet Kusterer and Martha Anne Clark of Elioak Farm trace the park's history through vintage images and interviews with the Harrison family, former employees and visitors. Join Kusterer and Clark to rediscover the magic of the Enchanted Forest.

Additional Information

Author Janet Kusterer / Martha Anne Clark
Publisher The History Press
Page Count 144pp
Publication Size 5.75 x 6.75 x 1
Publication Notes Softcover, b/w, 200 images
Publication Date August 13, 2013
ISBN 978-1626191396

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.