The titles in this section are biographies, autobiographies and memoirs. What's the difference between a memoir and an autobiography?

Items 76 to 100 of 188 total

per page
  1. 2
  2. 3
  3. 4
  4. 5
  5. 6

Grid  List 

Set Ascending Direction
  1. My People Are Rising

    My People Are Rising: Memoir of a Black Panther Party Captain


    In an era of stark racial injustice, Aaron Dixon dedicated his life to revolution, founding the Seattle chapter of the Black Panther Party in 1968 at age nineteen. Learn More
  2. My Inventions and Other Writings

    My Inventions and Other Writings


    The fascinating autobiography of the legendary inventor behind the radio, wireless energy, robotics, and much more. Learn More
  3. My Age Of Anxiety

    My Age of Anxiety: Fear, Hope, Dread, and the Search for Peace of Mind


    Drawing on his own longstanding battle with anxiety, Scott Stossel presents a moving and revelatory account of a condition that affects some 40 million Americans. Learn More
  4. My 1992 Diary

    My 1992 Diary


    Ready to revisit the early ’90s—that golden era of big bangs, Bubble Tape, and doing the Bartman? Meet your tour guide: Dawn Luebbe, an 11-year-old Nebraskan obsessed with 90210 and writing Kurt Cobain–inspired poetry. Learn More
  5. Mo' Meta Blues (paperback)

    Mo' Meta Blues: The World According to Questlove


    Mo' Meta Blues is a punch-drunk memoir in which Everyone's Favorite Questlove tells his own story while tackling some of the lates, the greats, the fakes, the philosophers, the heavyweights, and the true originals of the music world. He digs deep into the album cuts of his life and unearths some pivotal moments in black art, hip hop, and pop culture. Learn More
  6. Mezzogiorno

    Mezzogiorno: Life. Death. Southern Italy.


    A work of biography, autobiography, fiction and travel, spanning three generations of southern Italian family life. Learn More
  7. Memoirs of an Addicted Brain (softcover edition)

    Memoirs of an Addicted Brain: A Neuroscientist Examines his Former Life on Drugs


    Marc Lewis’s relationship with drugs began in a New England boarding school where, as a bullied and homesick fifteen-year-old, he made brief escapes from reality by way of cough medicine, alcohol, and marijuana. Learn More
  8. March Book 2

    March Book 2


    Congressman John Lewis, an American icon and one of the key figures of the civil rights movement, continues his award-winning graphic novel trilogy with co-writer Andrew Aydin and artist Nate Powell. Learn More
  9. March Book 1

    March Book 1


    Congressman John Lewis (GA-5) is an American icon, a man who has witnessed history in the making and helped make history himself as one of the key figures of the civil rights movement. Learn More
  10. Manic: A Memoir

    Manic: A Memoir


    An attractive, highly successful Beverly Hills entertainment lawyer, Terri Cheney had been battling debilitating bipolar disorder for the better part of her life—and concealing a pharmacy’s worth of prescription drugs meant to stabilize her moods and make her "normal." Learn More
  11. Man Of Rock

    Man Of Rock: The Biography Of Joe Kubert


    Joe Kubert's extraordinary career spans the history of the comic book in America: he began drawing comics in 1938, just as Superman made his debut in Action Comics #1. Learn More
  12. Malcolm X

    Malcolm X: A Life of Reinvention


    The late Manning Marable's acclaimed biography of Malcolm X finally does justice to one of the most influential and controversial figures of twentieth-century American history. Learn More
  13. Magical Thinking

    Magical Thinking: True Stories


    True stories that give voice to the thoughts that we all have but dare not mention. Learn More
  14. Low Life

    Low Life: Lures and Snares of Old New York


    Luc Sante's Low Life is a portrait of America's greatest city, the riotous and anarchic breeding ground of modernity. This is not the familiar saga of mansions, avenues, and robber barons, but the messy, turbulent, often murderous story of the city's slums; the teeming streets--scene of innumerable cons and crimes whose cramped and overcrowded housing is still a prominent feature of the cityscape. Learn More
  15. Low Down

    Low Down: Junk, Jazz, and Other Fairy Tales from Childhood


    A. J. Albany's recollection of life with her father, the great jazz pianist Joe Albany, is the story of one girl's unsentimental education. Learn More
  16. Little Failure (paperback)

    Little Failure: A Memoir


    After three acclaimed novels, Gary Shteyngart turns to memoir in a candid, witty, deeply poignant account of his life so far. Shteyngart shares his American immigrant experience, moving back and forth through time and memory with self-deprecating humor, moving insights, and literary bravado. The result is a resonant story of family and belonging that feels epic and intimate and distinctly his own. Learn More
  17. Let's Pretend This Never Happened (trade paperback)

    Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)


    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Learn More
  18. Let It Blurt

    Let It Blurt: The Life and Times of Lester Bangs, America's Greatest Rock Critic


    Let It Blurt is the raucous and righteous biography of Lester Bangs (1949-82)--the gonzo journalist, gutter poet, and romantic visionary of rock criticism. Learn More
  19. Learning To Live Finally

    Learning To Live Finally: The Last Interview


    With death looming, Jacques Derrida, the world's most famous philosopher, sat down with Jean Birnbaum of the French daily Le Monde. Learn More
  20. Just Kids (trade paperback)

    Just Kids


    In Just Kids, Patti Smith’s first book of prose, the legendary American artist offers a never-before-seen glimpse of her remarkable relationship with photographer Robert Mapplethorpe in the epochal days of New York City and the Chelsea Hotel in the late sixties and seventies. Learn More
  21. Junk Drunk

    Junk Drunk


    Out of stock

    "I would dive into a dumpster for this book any day." Essays and anecdotes about the life of an antique dealer. Learn More
  22. The Journals of Spalding Gray (paperback)

    Journals of Spalding Gray


    Riveting, funny, heartbreaking, at once raw and lyrical: these journals reveal the complexity of the actor/writer who invented the autobiographical monologue and perfected the form in such celebrated works as Swimming to Cambodia. Learn More
  23. Joseph Anton: A Memoir (tpb)

    Joseph Anton: A Memoir


    On February 14, 1989, Valentine’s Day, Salman Rushdie was telephoned by a BBC journalist and told that he had been "sentenced to death" by the Ayatollah Khomeini. For the first time he heard the word fatwa. His crime? To have written a novel called The Satanic Verses, which was accused of being "against Islam, the Prophet and the Quran." Learn More
  24. James Baldwin: The Last Interview: and other Conversations

    James Baldwin: The Last Interview: and other Conversations


    Never before available, the unexpurgated last interview with James Baldwin. Learn More
  25. The Island of the Colorblind

    Island Of The Colorblind


    Part travelogue, part autobiography, part medical mystery story. Learn More

Items 76 to 100 of 188 total

per page
  1. 2
  2. 3
  3. 4
  4. 5
  5. 6

Grid  List 

Set Ascending Direction