REAL LIFE

The titles in this section are biographies, autobiographies and memoirs. What's the difference between a memoir and an autobiography?

Items 101 to 125 of 221 total

per page
Page:
  1. 3
  2. 4
  3. 5
  4. 6
  5. 7

Grid  List 

Set Ascending Direction
  1. Malcolm X

    Malcolm X: A Life of Reinvention

    $18.00

    The late Manning Marable's acclaimed biography of Malcolm X finally does justice to one of the most influential and controversial figures of twentieth-century American history. Learn More
  2. Magical Thinking

    Magical Thinking: True Stories

    $14.00

    True stories that give voice to the thoughts that we all have but dare not mention. Learn More
  3. Low Life

    Low Life: Lures and Snares of Old New York

    $18.00

    Luc Sante's Low Life is a portrait of America's greatest city, the riotous and anarchic breeding ground of modernity. This is not the familiar saga of mansions, avenues, and robber barons, but the messy, turbulent, often murderous story of the city's slums; the teeming streets--scene of innumerable cons and crimes whose cramped and overcrowded housing is still a prominent feature of the cityscape. Learn More
  4. Low Down

    Low Down: Junk, Jazz, and Other Fairy Tales from Childhood

    $15.95

    A. J. Albany's recollection of life with her father, the great jazz pianist Joe Albany, is the story of one girl's unsentimental education. Learn More
  5. Little Failure (paperback)

    Little Failure: A Memoir

    $16.00

    After three acclaimed novels, Gary Shteyngart turns to memoir in a candid, witty, deeply poignant account of his life so far. Shteyngart shares his American immigrant experience, moving back and forth through time and memory with self-deprecating humor, moving insights, and literary bravado. The result is a resonant story of family and belonging that feels epic and intimate and distinctly his own. Learn More
  6. Let's Pretend This Never Happened (trade paperback)

    Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    $16.00

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Learn More
  7. Let It Blurt

    Let It Blurt: The Life and Times of Lester Bangs, America's Greatest Rock Critic

    $17.99

    Let It Blurt is the raucous and righteous biography of Lester Bangs (1949-82)--the gonzo journalist, gutter poet, and romantic visionary of rock criticism. Learn More
  8. Learning To Live Finally

    Learning To Live Finally: The Last Interview

    $15.95

    With death looming, Jacques Derrida, the world's most famous philosopher, sat down with Jean Birnbaum of the French daily Le Monde. Learn More
  9. Kurt Vonnegut: The Last Interview

    Kurt Vonnegut: The Last Interview: And Other Conversations

    $15.95

    One of the great American iconoclasts holds forth on politics, war, books and writers, and his personal life in a series of conversations, including his last published interview. Learn More
  10. Just Kids (trade paperback)

    Just Kids

    $16.00

    In Just Kids, Patti Smith’s first book of prose, the legendary American artist offers a never-before-seen glimpse of her remarkable relationship with photographer Robert Mapplethorpe in the epochal days of New York City and the Chelsea Hotel in the late sixties and seventies. Learn More
  11. Junk Drunk

    Junk Drunk

    $10.00

    Out of stock

    "I would dive into a dumpster for this book any day." Essays and anecdotes about the life of an antique dealer. Learn More
  12. The Journals of Spalding Gray (paperback)

    Journals of Spalding Gray

    $16.00

    Riveting, funny, heartbreaking, at once raw and lyrical: these journals reveal the complexity of the actor/writer who invented the autobiographical monologue and perfected the form in such celebrated works as Swimming to Cambodia. Learn More
  13. Joseph Anton: A Memoir (tpb)

    Joseph Anton: A Memoir

    $18.00

    On February 14, 1989, Valentine’s Day, Salman Rushdie was telephoned by a BBC journalist and told that he had been "sentenced to death" by the Ayatollah Khomeini. For the first time he heard the word fatwa. His crime? To have written a novel called The Satanic Verses, which was accused of being "against Islam, the Prophet and the Quran." Learn More
  14. Jorge Luis Borges: The Last Interview

    Jorge Luis Borges: The Last Interview: And Other Conversations

    $15.95

    Days before his death, Borges gave an intimate interview to his friend, the Argentine journalist Gloria Lopez Lecube. That interview is translated for the first time here, giving English-language readers a new insight into his life, loves, and thoughts about his work and country at the end of his life. Learn More
  15. Jane Jacobs: The Last Interview

    Jane Jacobs: The Last Interview: and Other Conversations

    $15.95

    Hailed by the New York Times Book Review as “perhaps the single most influential work in the history of town planning,” Jane Jacobs’s The Death and Life of Great American Cities was instantly recognized as a masterpiece upon its publication in 1961. Learn More
  16. James Baldwin: The Last Interview: and other Conversations

    James Baldwin: The Last Interview: and other Conversations

    $15.95

    Never before available, the unexpurgated last interview with James Baldwin. Learn More
  17. The Island of the Colorblind

    Island Of The Colorblind

    $15.95

    Part travelogue, part autobiography, part medical mystery story. Learn More
  18. Into Thin Air

    Into Thin Air: A Personal Account of the Mt. Everest Disaster

    $15.95

    A bank of clouds was assembling on the not-so-distant horizon, but journalist-mountaineer Jon Krakauer, standing on the summit of Mt. Everest, saw nothing that "suggested that a murderous storm was bearing down." He was wrong. Learn More
  19. Into The Wild

    Into the Wild

    $14.99

    In April 1992 a young man from a well-to-do family hitchhiked to Alaska and walked alone into the wilderness north of Mt. McKinley. Learn More
  20. Infinity Net

    Infinity Net: The Autobiography of Yayoi Kusama

    $19.95

    Japanese artist Yayoi Kusama (b. 1929) is one of the most talked-about artists working today. Learn More
  21. In Me Own Words

    In Me Own Words: The Autobiography Of Bigfoot

    $12.95

    Out of stock

    Life ain't easy when you're a bigfoot. Learn More
  22.  If Only You People Could Follow Directions: A Memoir

    If Only You People Could Follow Directions: A Memoir

    $15.95

    If Only You People Could Follow Directions is a spellbinding debut that reimagines the memoir in Jessica Hendry Nelson’s thoroughly original voice. Learn More
  23. I'm With Fatty

    I'm With Fatty: Losing Fifty Pounds in Fifty Miserable Weeks

    $15.00

    For most people, weight loss is spurred by a pair of tight pants or a photo that shows one too many chins. But Edward Ugel isn’t most people. Ugel was forced to lose weight after his wife recorded him snoring—a sound so deafeningly horrible that his “turncoat” doctor made him wear a CPAP machine to sleep every night. Learn More
  24. I Wasn't Strong Like This When I Started Out

    I Wasn't Strong Like This When I Started Out: True Stories of Becoming a Nurse

    $15.95

    This collection of true narratives reflects the dynamism and diversity of nurses, who provide the first vital line of patient care. Learn More
  25. I Was A Teenage Dominatrix

    I Was A Teenage Dominatrix: A Memoir

    $14.95

    Ride shotgun with Shawna Kenney as she transforms herself from young, broke, and miserable to an educated, confident woman after answering one newspaper ad: "Get Paid for Being a Bitch." Learn More

Items 101 to 125 of 221 total

per page
Page:
  1. 3
  2. 4
  3. 5
  4. 6
  5. 7

Grid  List 

Set Ascending Direction