REAL LIFE

The titles in this section are biographies, autobiographies and memoirs. What's the difference between a memoir and an autobiography?

Items 126 to 150 of 292 total

per page
Page:
  1. 4
  2. 5
  3. 6
  4. 7
  5. 8

Grid  List 

Set Descending Direction
  1.  If Only You People Could Follow Directions: A Memoir

    If Only You People Could Follow Directions: A Memoir

    $15.95

    If Only You People Could Follow Directions is a spellbinding debut that reimagines the memoir in Jessica Hendry Nelson’s thoroughly original voice. Learn More
  2. In Me Own Words

    In Me Own Words: The Autobiography Of Bigfoot

    $12.95

    Life ain't easy when you're a bigfoot. Learn More
  3. Infinity Net

    Infinity Net: The Autobiography of Yayoi Kusama

    $19.95

    Japanese artist Yayoi Kusama (b. 1929) is one of the most talked-about artists working today. Learn More
  4. Insatiable: Porn - A Love Story

    Insatiable: Porn - A Love Story

    $25.00

    Asa Akira (28) has already had an extremely unusual life. Educated at the United Nations International School in Manhattan, she soon was earning a good living by stripping and working as a dominatrix at a sex dungeon. Akira has now built up a reputation for being of the most popular, hardworking, and extreme actors in the business, winning dozens of awards for her 330+ movies, including her #1 bestselling series “Asa Akira Is Insatiable”. Learn More
  5. Into The Wild

    Into the Wild

    $14.99

    In April 1992 a young man from a well-to-do family hitchhiked to Alaska and walked alone into the wilderness north of Mt. McKinley. Learn More
  6. Into Thin Air

    Into Thin Air: A Personal Account of the Mt. Everest Disaster

    $15.95

    A bank of clouds was assembling on the not-so-distant horizon, but journalist-mountaineer Jon Krakauer, standing on the summit of Mt. Everest, saw nothing that "suggested that a murderous storm was bearing down." He was wrong. Learn More
  7. The Island of the Colorblind

    Island Of The Colorblind

    $15.95

    Part travelogue, part autobiography, part medical mystery story. Learn More
  8. James Baldwin: The Last Interview: and other Conversations

    James Baldwin: The Last Interview: and other Conversations

    $15.95

    Never before available, the unexpurgated last interview with James Baldwin. Learn More
  9. Joseph Anton: A Memoir (tpb)

    Joseph Anton: A Memoir

    $18.00

    On February 14, 1989, Valentine’s Day, Salman Rushdie was telephoned by a BBC journalist and told that he had been "sentenced to death" by the Ayatollah Khomeini. For the first time he heard the word fatwa. His crime? To have written a novel called The Satanic Verses, which was accused of being "against Islam, the Prophet and the Quran." Learn More
  10. The Journals of Spalding Gray (paperback)

    Journals of Spalding Gray

    $16.00

    Riveting, funny, heartbreaking, at once raw and lyrical: these journals reveal the complexity of the actor/writer who invented the autobiographical monologue and perfected the form in such celebrated works as Swimming to Cambodia. Learn More
  11. Jubilee Hitchhiker

    Jubilee Hitchhiker: The Life and Times of Richard Brautigan

    $29.95

    Confident and robust, Jubilee Hitchhiker is an comprehensive biography of late novelist and poet Richard Brautigan, author of Troutfishing in America and A Confederate General from Big Sur, among many others. Learn More
  12. Junk Drunk

    Junk Drunk

    $10.00

    Out of stock

    "I would dive into a dumpster for this book any day." Essays and anecdotes about the life of an antique dealer. Learn More
  13. Just Kids (trade paperback)

    Just Kids

    $16.00

    In Just Kids, Patti Smith’s first book of prose, the legendary American artist offers a never-before-seen glimpse of her remarkable relationship with photographer Robert Mapplethorpe in the epochal days of New York City and the Chelsea Hotel in the late sixties and seventies. Learn More
  14. Kurt Vonnegut: Letters

    Kurt Vonnegut: Letters

    $35.00

    This extraordinary collection of personal correspondence has all the hallmarks of Kurt Vonnegut’s fiction. Written over a sixty-year period, these letters, the vast majority of them never before published, are funny, moving, and full of the same uncanny wisdom that has endeared his work to readers worldwide. Learn More
  15. The Last Love Song

    Last Love Song: A Biography of Joan Didion

    $35.00

    In The Last Love Song, Tracy Daugherty, the critically acclaimed author of Hiding Man (a New Yorker and New York Times Notable book) and Just One Catch, delves deep into the life of distinguished American author and journalist Joan Didion in this, the first printed biography published about her life. Learn More
  16. Learning To Live Finally

    Learning To Live Finally: The Last Interview

    $15.95

    With death looming, Jacques Derrida, the world's most famous philosopher, sat down with Jean Birnbaum of the French daily Le Monde. Learn More
  17. Let It Blurt

    Let It Blurt: The Life and Times of Lester Bangs, America's Greatest Rock Critic

    $17.99

    Let It Blurt is the raucous and righteous biography of Lester Bangs (1949-82)--the gonzo journalist, gutter poet, and romantic visionary of rock criticism. Learn More
  18. Let's Pretend This Never Happened (trade paperback)

    Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    $16.00

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Learn More
  19. Little Failure (paperback)

    Little Failure: A Memoir

    $16.00

    After three acclaimed novels, Gary Shteyngart turns to memoir in a candid, witty, deeply poignant account of his life so far. Shteyngart shares his American immigrant experience, moving back and forth through time and memory with self-deprecating humor, moving insights, and literary bravado. The result is a resonant story of family and belonging that feels epic and intimate and distinctly his own. Learn More
  20. Lives We Carry with Us

    Lives We Carry with Us: Profiles of Moral Courage

    $24.95

    A dozen brilliant portraits by the Pulitzer Prize–winning author Andrew Greeley described as a “social scientist, humanist, political activist, psychiatrist, minstrel, wandering storytelling, mystic, wise man, poet dissenter". Learn More
  21. Love and Struggle

    Love and Struggle: My Life in SDS, the Weather Underground, and Beyond

    $22.00

    Written from the maximum-security prison where he has lived for almost 30 years, this enlightening memoir chronicles the militant career of David Gilbert, a radical activist whose incarceration is due to his involvement in the 1981 Brinks robbery, an attempted expropriation that resulted in four deaths. Learn More
  22. Low Down

    Low Down: Junk, Jazz, and Other Fairy Tales from Childhood

    $15.95

    A. J. Albany's recollection of life with her father, the great jazz pianist Joe Albany, is the story of one girl's unsentimental education. Learn More
  23. Low Life

    Low Life: Lures and Snares of Old New York

    $18.00

    Luc Sante's Low Life is a portrait of America's greatest city, the riotous and anarchic breeding ground of modernity. This is not the familiar saga of mansions, avenues, and robber barons, but the messy, turbulent, often murderous story of the city's slums; the teeming streets--scene of innumerable cons and crimes whose cramped and overcrowded housing is still a prominent feature of the cityscape. Learn More
  24. M Train

    M Train

    $25.00

    From the National Book Award–winning author of Just Kids: an unforgettable odyssey of a legendary artist, told through the prism of the cafés and haunts she has worked in around the world. Learn More
  25. Magical Thinking

    Magical Thinking: True Stories

    $14.00

    True stories that give voice to the thoughts that we all have but dare not mention. Learn More

Items 126 to 150 of 292 total

per page
Page:
  1. 4
  2. 5
  3. 6
  4. 7
  5. 8

Grid  List 

Set Descending Direction