REAL LIFE

The titles in this section are biographies, autobiographies and memoirs. What's the difference between a memoir and an autobiography?

Items 151 to 175 of 311 total

per page
Page:
  1. 5
  2. 6
  3. 7
  4. 8
  5. 9

Grid  List 

Set Descending Direction
  1. Kurt Vonnegut: The Last Interview

    Kurt Vonnegut: The Last Interview: And Other Conversations

    $15.95

    One of the great American iconoclasts holds forth on politics, war, books and writers, and his personal life in a series of conversations, including his last published interview. Learn More
  2. The Last Love Song

    Last Love Song: A Biography of Joan Didion

    $35.00

    In The Last Love Song, Tracy Daugherty, the critically acclaimed author of Hiding Man (a New Yorker and New York Times Notable book) and Just One Catch, delves deep into the life of distinguished American author and journalist Joan Didion in this, the first printed biography published about her life. Learn More
  3. Learning To Live Finally

    Learning To Live Finally: The Last Interview

    $15.95

    With death looming, Jacques Derrida, the world's most famous philosopher, sat down with Jean Birnbaum of the French daily Le Monde. Learn More
  4. Let It Blurt

    Let It Blurt: The Life and Times of Lester Bangs, America's Greatest Rock Critic

    $17.99

    Let It Blurt is the raucous and righteous biography of Lester Bangs (1949-82)--the gonzo journalist, gutter poet, and romantic visionary of rock criticism. Learn More
  5. Let's Pretend This Never Happened (trade paperback)

    Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)

    $16.00

    For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Learn More
  6. Little Failure (paperback)

    Little Failure: A Memoir

    $16.00

    After three acclaimed novels, Gary Shteyngart turns to memoir in a candid, witty, deeply poignant account of his life so far. Shteyngart shares his American immigrant experience, moving back and forth through time and memory with self-deprecating humor, moving insights, and literary bravado. The result is a resonant story of family and belonging that feels epic and intimate and distinctly his own. Learn More
  7. Lives We Carry with Us

    Lives We Carry with Us: Profiles of Moral Courage

    $24.95

    A dozen brilliant portraits by the Pulitzer Prize–winning author Andrew Greeley described as a “social scientist, humanist, political activist, psychiatrist, minstrel, wandering storytelling, mystic, wise man, poet dissenter". Learn More
  8. Love and Struggle

    Love and Struggle: My Life in SDS, the Weather Underground, and Beyond

    $22.00

    Written from the maximum-security prison where he has lived for almost 30 years, this enlightening memoir chronicles the militant career of David Gilbert, a radical activist whose incarceration is due to his involvement in the 1981 Brinks robbery, an attempted expropriation that resulted in four deaths. Learn More
  9. Low Down

    Low Down: Junk, Jazz, and Other Fairy Tales from Childhood

    $15.95

    A. J. Albany's recollection of life with her father, the great jazz pianist Joe Albany, is the story of one girl's unsentimental education. Learn More
  10. Low Life

    Low Life: Lures and Snares of Old New York

    $18.00

    Luc Sante's Low Life is a portrait of America's greatest city, the riotous and anarchic breeding ground of modernity. This is not the familiar saga of mansions, avenues, and robber barons, but the messy, turbulent, often murderous story of the city's slums; the teeming streets--scene of innumerable cons and crimes whose cramped and overcrowded housing is still a prominent feature of the cityscape. Learn More
  11. M Train

    M Train

    $25.00

    From the National Book Award–winning author of Just Kids: an unforgettable odyssey of a legendary artist, told through the prism of the cafés and haunts she has worked in around the world. Learn More
  12. Magical Thinking

    Magical Thinking: True Stories

    $14.00

    True stories that give voice to the thoughts that we all have but dare not mention. Learn More
  13. Malcolm X

    Malcolm X: A Life of Reinvention

    $18.00

    The late Manning Marable's acclaimed biography of Malcolm X finally does justice to one of the most influential and controversial figures of twentieth-century American history. Learn More
  14. Man In Profile

    Man in Profile: Joseph Mitchell of The New Yorker

    $30.00

    This fascinating biography reveals the untold story of the legendary New Yorker profile writer—author of Joe Gould’s Secret and Up in the Old Hotel—and unravels the mystery behind one of literary history’s greatest disappearing acts. Learn More
  15. Man Of Rock

    Man Of Rock: The Biography Of Joe Kubert

    $19.99

    Joe Kubert's extraordinary career spans the history of the comic book in America: he began drawing comics in 1938, just as Superman made his debut in Action Comics #1. Learn More
  16. Manic: A Memoir

    Manic: A Memoir

    $13.99

    An attractive, highly successful Beverly Hills entertainment lawyer, Terri Cheney had been battling debilitating bipolar disorder for the better part of her life—and concealing a pharmacy’s worth of prescription drugs meant to stabilize her moods and make her "normal." Learn More
  17. March Book 1

    March Book 1

    $14.95

    Congressman John Lewis (GA-5) is an American icon, a man who has witnessed history in the making and helped make history himself as one of the key figures of the civil rights movement. Learn More
  18. March Book 2

    March Book 2

    $19.95

    Congressman John Lewis, an American icon and one of the key figures of the civil rights movement, continues his award-winning graphic novel trilogy with co-writer Andrew Aydin and artist Nate Powell. Learn More
  19. Memoirs of a Not Altogether Shy Pornographer

    Memoirs of a Not Altogether Shy Pornographer

    $16.95

    In this funny and telling portrait of the artist as a young pornographer, Bernard Wolfe chronicles his own unlikely entrance into the world of letters. Learn More
  20. Memoirs of an Addicted Brain (softcover edition)

    Memoirs of an Addicted Brain: A Neuroscientist Examines his Former Life on Drugs

    $15.99

    Marc Lewis’s relationship with drugs began in a New England boarding school where, as a bullied and homesick fifteen-year-old, he made brief escapes from reality by way of cough medicine, alcohol, and marijuana. Learn More
  21. Mencken: The American Iconoclast

    Mencken: The American Iconoclast

    $30.00

    The Life And Times Of The Bad Boy Of Baltimore. Learn More
  22. Mezzogiorno

    Mezzogiorno: Life. Death. Southern Italy.

    $19.95

    A work of biography, autobiography, fiction and travel, spanning three generations of southern Italian family life. Learn More
  23. Miracles Of Life

    Miracles of Life: Shanghai to Shepperton, An Autobiography

    $25.95

    A final statement from the greatest clairvoyant of twentieth-century literature. Learn More
  24. Missile Paradise

    Missile Paradise

    $16.95

    In the Marshall Islands, an island-nation in the middle of the Pacific Ocean that was once a testing ground for nuclear bombs, American engineers and programmers are making and testing missiles while their "hosts," the indigenous Marshallese, sweep their streets and clean their houses. Learn More
  25. Mo' Meta Blues (paperback)

    Mo' Meta Blues: The World According to Questlove

    $16.00

    Mo' Meta Blues is a punch-drunk memoir in which Everyone's Favorite Questlove tells his own story while tackling some of the lates, the greats, the fakes, the philosophers, the heavyweights, and the true originals of the music world. He digs deep into the album cuts of his life and unearths some pivotal moments in black art, hip hop, and pop culture. Learn More

Items 151 to 175 of 311 total

per page
Page:
  1. 5
  2. 6
  3. 7
  4. 8
  5. 9

Grid  List 

Set Descending Direction