Depending on who you ask, all science can be strange. For example, in the immortal words of The Insane Clown Posse, "I've seen miracles all around me, stop and look around it's all astounding, water, fire air and dirt, f*cking magnets, how do they work? I don't want to talk to a scientist, ya'll MF lying and getting me pissed..." See?

Items 51 to 75 of 259 total

per page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Grid  List 

Set Ascending Direction
  1. The Philosophical Breakfast Club (trade paperback)

    The Philosophical Breakfast Club: Four Remarkable Friends Who Transformed Science and Changed the World


    Out of stock

    The Philosophical Breakfast Club recounts the life and work of four men who met as students at Cambridge University: Charles Babbage, John Herschel, William Whewell, and Richard Jones. Learn More
  2. The Philosopher's Stone

    The Philosopher's Stone: Alchemy and the Secret Research for Exotic Matter


    Prolific author Joseph P. Farrell, who commands a growing and devoted audience on Coast to Coast AM, Erskine Overnight, and other programs, initiates his Feral House association with The Philosopher's Stone, in which he demonstrates the connections of modern physics and ancient alchemy by investigating monatomic gold, the work of Russian astrophysicist Nikolai Kozyrev, and the fuel for the mysterious Nazi 'Bell' device, Serum 525. Learn More
  3. The Other Side of Normal

    The Other Side of Normal: How Biology Is Providing the Clues to Unlock the Secrets of Normal and Abnormal Behavior


    Psychiatry has ignored the normal. The focus on defining abnormal behavior has obscured what turns out to be a more fundamental question—how does the biology of the brain give rise to the mind, which in turn gives rise to everything we care about: thoughts, feelings, desires, and relationships? Learn More
  4. The Origin Of Feces

    The Origin of Feces: What Excrement Tells Us About Evolution, Ecology, and a Sustainable Society


    An entertaining and enlightening exploration of why waste matters, this cultural history explores an often ignored subject matter and makes a compelling argument for a deeper understanding of human and animal waste. Learn More
  5. The Natural History Of Unicorns

    The Natural History Of Unicorns


    For over two thousand years, unicorns have inspired, enchanted, and eluded humanity. Learn More
  6. The Mind's Eye (trade paperback)

    The Mind's Eye


    In The Mind’s Eye, Oliver Sacks tells the stories of people who are able to navigate the world and communicate with others despite losing what many of us consider indispensable senses and abilities: the power of speech, the capacity to recognize faces, the sense of three-dimensional space, the ability to read, the sense of sight. For all of these people, the challenge is to adapt to a radically new way of being in the world. Learn More
  7. The Machine

    The Machine: A Field Guide to the Resurgent Right


    Before Barack Obama had even taken the oath of office after his historic victory, cadres of lobbyists, political hacks, oil tycoons, and right-wing politicians met to plan his political demise. The massive conservative infrastructure created by business groups beginning in the 1970s would not be sufficient, they concluded: in the age of Obama, something new—and bold—had to be done. Learn More
  8. The Information

    The Information: A History, A Theory, A Flood


    From the bestselling author of the acclaimed Chaos and Genius comes a thoughtful and provocative exploration of the big ideas of the modern era: Information, communication, and information theory. Learn More
  9. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

    The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks


    Her name was Henrietta Lacks, but scientists know her as HeLa. She was a poor Southern tobacco farmer who worked the same land as her slave ancestors, yet her cells—taken without her knowledge—became one of the most important tools in medicine. Learn More
  10. The Hidden Reality (hardover edition)

    The Hidden Reality: Parallel Universes and the Deep Laws of the Cosmos


    From the best-selling author of The Elegant Universe and The Fabric of the Cosmos comes his most expansive and accessible book to date—a book that takes on the grandest question: Is ours the only universe? Learn More
  11. The Hidden Brain

    The Hidden Brain: How Our Unconscious Minds Elect Presidents, Control Markets, Wage Wars, and Save Our Lives


    The hidden brain is the voice in our ear when we make the most important decisions in our lives—but we’re never aware of it. The hidden brain decides whom we fall in love with and whom we hate. It tells us to vote for the white candidate and convict the dark-skinned defendant, to hire the thin woman but pay her less than the man doing the same job. It can direct us to safety when disaster strikes and move us to extraordinary acts of altruism. But it can also be manipulated to turn an ordinary person into a suicide terrorist or a group of bystanders into a mob. Learn More
  12. The Greatest Show on Earth

    The Greatest Show on Earth: The Evidence for Evolution


    In 2008, a Gallup poll showed that 44 percent of Americans believed God had created man in his present form within the last 10,000 years. In a Pew Forum poll in the same year, 42 percent believed that all life on earth has existed in its present form since the beginning of time. Learn More
  13. The Enigma of Cranial Deformation

    The Enigma of Cranial Deformation: Elongated Skulls of the Ancients


    Popular Lost Cities author Childress tackles the enigma of worldwide cranial deformation along with Canadian-Peruvian anthropologist Foerster. Learn More
  14. Earth (The Daily Show)

    The Daily Show With Jon Stewart Presents Earth (The Book): A Visitor's Guide To The Human Race


    The eagerly awaited new book from the Emmy-winning, Oscar-hosting, Daily Show-anchoring Jon Stewart--the man behind the megaseller America (The Book). Learn More
  15. The Cryptopedia

    The Cryptopedia: A Dictionary of the Weird, Strange, and Downright Bizarre


    At the edge of the known world, demons, monsters, and baffling phenomena abound. Learn More
  16. The Checklist Manifesto

    The Checklist Manifesto: How to Get Things Right


    In his latest bestseller, Atul Gawande shows what the simple idea of the checklist reveals about the complexity of our lives and how we can deal with it. Learn More
  17. cartoon guide to genetics cover

    The Cartoon Guide To Genetics


    Illustrates, simplifies, and humor-coats the important principles of classical and modern genetics and their experimental bases. Learn More
  18. Cartoon Guide To Chemistry

    The Cartoon Guide To Chemistry


    A refreshingly humorous but thorough ancillary guide to general chemistry from the author of the bestselling The Cartoon Guide to Physics and The Cartoon Guide to Genetics. Learn More
  19. The Botany Of Desire

    The Botany Of Desire: A Plant's-Eye View of the World


    Pollan links 4 fundamental human desires - sweetness, beauty, intoxication, and control - with the plants that satisfy them: the apple, the tulip, marijuana, and the potato. Learn More
  20. The Book of Perfectly Perilous Math

    The Book of Perfectly Perilous Math: 24 Death-Defying Challenges for Young Mathematicians


    Math rocks! At least it does in the gifted hands of Sean Connolly, who blends middle school math with fantasy to create an exciting adventure in problem-solving. Learn More
  21. Big Book of Maryland Ghost Stories

    The Big Book of Maryland Ghost Stories


    Maryland has been an important crossroads since its settlement more than 375 years ago. That strategic location has provided the Old Line State with a rich history and a large body of folklore, from the seafaring legends of the Eastern Shore to the mountain tales of the rugged western counties. Learn More
  22. The Big Bento Box Of Unuseless Japanese Inventions

    The Big Bento Box Of Unuseless Japanese Inventions


    From the land of the rising sun, strangely practical and utterly eccentric inventions for a life of ease—and hilarity. Learn More
  23. That Is All (paperback)

    That Is All


    John Hodgman-bestselling author, The Daily Show's "Resident Expert", minor television celebrity, and deranged millionaire-brings us the third and final installment in his trilogy of Complete World Knowledge. Learn More
  24. Tesla: The Life And Times Of An Electric Messiah

    Tesla: The Life And Times Of An Electric Messiah


    Despite being incredibly popular during his time, Nikola Tesla today remains largely overlooked among lists of the greatest inventors and scientists of the modern era. Learn More
  25. The Tesla Papers

    Tesla Papers: Nikola Tesla on Free Energy And Wireless Transmission of Power


    In the tradition of The Fantastic Inventions of Nikola Tesla, The Anti-Gravity Handbook and The Free-Energy Device Handbook, science and UFO author David Hatcher Childress takes us into the incredible world of Nikola Tesla and his amazing inventions. Learn More

Items 51 to 75 of 259 total

per page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Grid  List 

Set Ascending Direction