Special Exits

Be the first to review this product

Availability: In stock

$26.99
OR

Quick Overview

A major, original graphic memoir in the vein of Fun Home. Joyce Farmer’s memoir chronicles the decline of the author’s parents’ health, their relationship with one another and with their their daughter, and how they cope with the day-to-day emotional fragility of the most taxing time of their lives.

Special Exits

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

  • Special Exits

Details

Elderly parents Lara and Rachel, who have enjoyed a long and loving married life together, are rendered in fine, confident pen lines. Set in southern Los Angeles (which makes for a terrifying sequence as blind Rachel and ailing Lars are trapped in their home without power during the 1992 Rodney King riots), backgrounds and props are lovingly detailed: these objects serve as memory triggers for Lars and Rachel, even as they eventually overwhelm them and their home, which the couple is loathe to leave.

Special Exits is laid out in an eight-panel grid, which creates a leisurely storytelling pace that not only helps to convey the slow, inexorable decline in Lars’ and Rachel’s health, but perfectly captures the timbre of the exchanges between a long-married couple: the affectionate bickering; their gallows humor; their querulousness as their bodies break down.

Though Lars and Rachel are the protagonists of Special Exits, Farmer makes her voice known through creative visual metaphors and in her indictment of the careless treatment of the elderly in nursing homes. Special Exits gracefully deals with the hard reality of caring for aging loved ones: those who are or who have been in similar situations might find comfort in it, and those who haven’t will find much to admire in the bravery and good humor of Lars and Rachel.

Joyce Farmer, best known for co-creating the Tits ’n Clits comics anthology in the 1970s, a feminist response to the rampant misogyny in underground comix, spent 11 years crafting Special Exits, a graphic memoir in the vein of Alison Bechdel’s Fun Home or Harvey Pekar, Joyce Brabner, and Frank Stack’s Our Cancer Year, about caring for her dying father and stepmother.

Additional Information

Author Joyce Farmer
Publisher Fantagraphics Books
Page Count 208pp
Publication Size 7.5 x 10
Publication Notes hardcover, b/w
Publication Date December 8, 2010
ISBN 978-1606993811

You may also be interested in the following product(s)

Best Of American Splendor

Best Of American Splendor

$24.95
American Splendor: Another Dollar

American Splendor: Another Dollar

$14.99
American Splendor: Another Day

American Splendor: Another Day

$14.99
American Splendor Presents Bob and Harv's Comics

American Splendor Presents Bob and Harv's Comics

$16.00

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.